A Soul in Fall

Photo by Justin Young, unsplash

Winds wheeze soft cadence
Hues of green to tangerine
Euphony of fall
North winds blowing cool
Feast of swishing, swirling leaves
All of them shall drop
Long are the nights so
Live in this brief autumn light
Dance still even you’re
A soul in its fall
Never resist, let it flow
Crimson’s the sky now
Ending is this day
Soon icy snow shall waltz in

© 2020 Matt P


Two forms in one. Both a Haiku Sonnet and an acrostic poem. And again, written for Eugi’s dancing prompt.

9 thoughts on “A Soul in Fall

  1. Matt, this a beautiful melding of the two forms. I love the sentiment and scene you have given in your words. The acrostic is done perfectly. And the haiku sonnet is true to form. I can see this is getting just to easy for you. I will have to find a form for the coming weeks that are a bit more of a challenge for you. Well written, Matt! You are a gifted poet!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Brad! You really do have a way with your words. Lol to the challenge. I still struggle sometimes, though. This is a drastic shift in my writing preference but I’m enjoying it, thanks to you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Poetry is outside most people’s comfort zone, but you do have an innate talent for it. I am not suggesting that you only ever write poetry. But I would suggest, that with your talent for it, you never not write poetry. It will always reward you for your efforts in helping you to stretch and grow your writing abilities.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve written poem before but they weren’t good at all. And if I write them, it’s just only so I can comply to my lit classes. But now I feel this connection to poetry. And it does help me a lot in filtering my thoughts, and selecting words.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooh, nice. Love the two forms combined. I once did an acrostic + shape poem — harder to do two things in one, but in your poem the two forms add quite nicely to the function. Love the sensory imagery as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment